Homeward Bound

A new day dawns – the wind has lessened but it is still raining. Lying in my sleeping bag I try to psych myself up for the wet cycle back to Stranraer. I huddle in the tent while Eunice sets about making breakfast. The well travelled tin of custard is opened and served hot with cereal. Wrapping my hands around a warming cup of tea my mood picks up and it even stops raining. As we pack up camp I notice the two fisherman are moving on as well. Before they drive off one of them takes a large bag of litter and hides it behind a rock. Thinking they have not been seen they wave at us as they go past – another clean up job for the already fed up farmer.

Passing the Drumore shop again I insist on stopping for a packet of biscuits. This is so I will have something to eat if my bicycle decides to self destruct on the return journey. The shop is still untidy but there is a new shop assistant who is as dour as the one yesterday. Knowing we need to be served she decides to make a phone call. She sets about ordering a 10 x 6 pink and white birthday cake for Elsie, who being a nurse needs to have something relating to her career displayed on the cake. I decide the manager of my own shop should feel blessed at the quality of staff she employs.

The route back is straightforward and less hilly the we have come to expect and with the wind at our backs the kilometres get eaten up. Just after Sandhead the road turns inland and when we reach the outskirts of Stranraer my thoughts begin to turn to lunch. The van is a welcome sight so it’s a quick change of clothes in the back before the bikes and panniers are stowed away. Heading up to the heart of the town we select a cafe and to celebrate our safe return I opt for an all day Scottish breakfast. The toast arrives first and quickly spreading it with butter I watch as it melts and oozes into the bread. I take a bite – pure heaven ……. !

Stranraer

Leave a comment