The Queen’s Birthday

It is Eunice’s birthday and the day has not started well. Her present from me is a wooden backgammon set. Before it arrived in the post I was instructed by the company selling it not to sign for the package if there were any signs of damage. It is delivered intact and after removing the plastic packet and taking it out of the cardboard box I find the actual game is in a box covered in clear cellophane which I do not remove. I had wanted to look inside but with my history of never being able to restore things to their original state I leave well alone. Printed on the side of the box are the words “Quality checked in England” – what could possibly go wrong? It turns out the quality controller could not count to fifteen as there are only ten black counters. I fire off an email to the company expressing my dissatisfaction that what is described as a quality product has a fault which makes it unusable.

We head out up into the forest on the bikes. There is no plan for today’s ride – the sun is shining and the world is waking up after the long winter so there is much to celebrate along with the birthday girl. Her present to herself has been a smartphone and being competitive by nature she has downloaded the Strava app. This is her first ride on the trails using it. Before we get to any Strava segments I take her to see a scary rock and north shore section I found recently while out exploring. A steep rock of about three metres leads onto a narrow piece of north shore almost at right angles to it. After a few metres this steps up on to yet another wooden section. Anyone riding this would have to be in complete control of their bike – this is not where you can just point your front wheel and hope for the best. The first time I came here I looked at it fearfully and then just retraced my wheel tracks. Eunice decides that we are going to walk it with the bikes. This is in itself scary as the wooden sections narrows to a point where there is just enough room for my feet and no room for the bike so I have to carry it. I begin to think we will reach a section which we won’t manage to get down and then we really will have to turn back. The last part has a downhill rock slab so steep that the only way down would be to actually cycle it – that is if you were brave enough, which I obviously am not. To the left of it is a smaller rock and mud section which is less steep. Eunice takes pity on me and lifts my bike half way down this while I concentrate on staying upright as I clamber down. We regroup in one piece at the bottom.

The rest of the ride is uneventful except for the fact that Eunice is riding everything fast so as to maximise her Strava awards. I more or less manage to keep up. Close to home we decide to take time out at the loch side. The steep path down to the waters edge has for months been blocked by a large fallen tree. Even though this is an unofficial route, the workers carrying out the face lift of the forest have cleared the tree away. A second line has started to form and I set off this way. Unfortunately in my rush to get to the bench for a sit down I forget one of the first rules of mountain biking – always look as far ahead as possible. I have drifted completely off the track and am headed for a rock which is far too big to ride over. I manage to stop in time and decide to take the road more travelled.

Queen of the loch

Queen of the loch

Eunice excitedly pulls out her phone – she has registered 16 achievements including a QOM. For the uninitiated this stands for Queen of the Mountain. The herons squawk their congratulations from the other side of the water. Even the grebe is being vocal today – that is when it is not doing its underwater swimming stunt.

I return home to an email from the seller of the backgammon set. A new one is being sent today and as the manufacturer does not want the faulty one back we even have spare parts. All those Strava achievements and five counters short of two backgammon sets – this is birthday fit for a Queen.

Leave a comment